The Nordic Society for Radiation Protection was established on June 10th 1964 at the initiative of professor Rolf Sievert.  He arranged the first meeting, which included persons active in radiation protection from all the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden).  Already the same year the society became a member of IRPA (the International Radiation Protection Association).  The first general meeting (conference) was held in Stockholm in 1966.  Subsequent general meetings have been held in Oslo (1968), Copenhagen (1971), Helsinki (1974), Visby (1977), Reykjavík (1981), Copenhagen (1984), Mariehamn (1987), Ronneby (1990), Kristiansand (1993), Reykjavík (1996), Skagen (1999), Åbo (2002), Rättvik (2005), Ålesund (2008), Reykjavik (2011) and Roskilde (2015). The next meeting will be held in Helsinki in June 2019.



The society is dedicated to the development and dissemination of knowledge and experience on protection against ionizing and non-ionizing radiation. This covers a.o. radiation protection for workers, patients being subjected to irradiation for diagnostics or therapeutic purposes and protection of the public in general.  This work is mainly done through arranging general meetings (conferences) within the Nordic countries, where members can meet and exchange views and information.  These meetings are held every fourth year (until 2011 every third year).  The scope is generally wide and presentations can be given by invited speakers.  If needed and it is assumed practical, smaller meetings can be arranged on specific topics.  The Society is connected to the international community of radiation protection societies through its membership of IRPA.



The Board

The NSFS Board is elected every fourth year at the General Assembly of the Society.  The Board is composed of the President as well as three members from each of the five Nordic countries. The Board elected at General Assembly on 12 June 2019 is: President: Eva Forssell-Aronsson, president@nullnsfs.org   DENMARK Peter Grøn Jens Søgaard-Hansen …


You may become a member of NSFS, if you support the aims of NSFS. I.e. you are interested in and/or actively involved in radiation protection issues, and have connections to one of the Nordic countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden. Basis for membership can be a degree from a university or high school, or …



Statutes for Nordiska sällskapet för strålskydd (Nordic Society for Radiation Protection) Approved at the constituent assembly in Stockholm June, 1964 and amended in Copenhagen August 19, 1971, in Visby September 6, 1978, in Ronneby August 31, 1990, in Skagen August 26, 1999 and in Åbo August 26, 2002.   § 1 The SOCIETY is dedicated …

Bo Lindell-pristagare

Kriterier och ordningsregler för val av Bo Lindell-pristagare Kriterier Till Bo Lindell-pristagare kan utses en person som sällskapet önskar ge sitt erkännande för sina stora förtjänster inom strålskyddsområdet genom att under många år ha främjat ett gott strål-skydd teoretiskt och/eller praktiskt eller som i övrigt på ett betydelsefullt sätt främjat sällskapets ändamål. Ordningsregler Ordförandelandets styrelse …


NSFS has been a member of IRPA (the International Radiation Protection Association) since 1964. IRPA Executive Council Report for the term 2016-2020 IRPA Executive Council Report for the term 2012-2016 IRPA News and IRPA Bulletins from IRPA: These can be found on the IRPA website.